A Path Out of the "Uncanny Valley"?

A Path Out of the "Uncanny Valley"?

Postby JohanEklund on 20 Nov 2009, 13:03

Hello good people of Robots Podcast forum!

My name is Johan Eklund. I'm a psychologist and have written a thesis about our psychological reactions to robots. Early in the research for my thesis I naturally came across Masahiro Moris hypothesis about "the uncanny valley". In this way my thesis became a critical examination of Moris hypothesis. The short version is that I argue for an abandonment of "the uncanny valley" and the need for a more nuanced view of human reactions on humanlike robots.

Before I give you the long version, let me say that I'm posting this with the hope that you might comment with your qualified thoughts.

Now, the long version:

By reviewing the empirical investigations in the field I examined our reactions on three levels: immediate, mediated and reflective reactions.

To access the “immediate” reactions on robots, I have reviewed literature on both facial attractiveness and on experiments with “the uncanny valley” that used static images. From these reviews, I argue that the "near-realistic" robot face can elicit negative reactions, such as disgust, but that it is by no means unavoidable. By careful selection of facial features with high symmetry, averageness, and slightly enlarged features it is possible to create a near-realistic robot that does not elicit negative reactions on the immediate level.

In my section on the “mediated” reactions on robots I explain and discuss higher cognitive reactions towards robots. I explain how our above mentioned immediate reactions towards the robot "as if it were alive" can create a dissonance with our mediated knowledge of the robot's artificial nature.