Role of Robots in Society!

Role of Robots in Society!

Postby robotsnoob on 27 Oct 2008, 08:40

Hi guys! I'm a newbie here. Just curious about what the main role of robots is, what I feel is that they are mostly created for research purposes, such as sending robots to the planet Mars. What do you guys think?
robotsnoob

Re: Role of Robots in Society!

Postby Johnny 5 on 29 Oct 2008, 14:47

Mars ... hmm. How many robots on Mars? A handful at the last count?

Check out this post on Automaton: 6.5 Million Robots Now Inhabit the Earth:
... First, industrial robots: there are now nearly 1 million units toiling in factories around the world. As for service robots -- which range from military bomb-disposal bots to home vacuum cleaners -- their number grew to about 5.5 million. All of which brings the world's robot population to 6.5 million...

Lots of research bots for sure, but they are already out there... be watchful! Fortunately we are not alone ... the folks at the Robot Uprising offer some help and just a couple of weeks ago the first company to specialize on weapons against robots was launched.

Seriously though, I'm not sure what you mean by the main role of robots ... right now it's manufacturing. Next is probably entertainment (and military). Then ... well, you tell me! What do you think? :)
Johnny 5

Postby robotsnoob on 30 Oct 2008, 05:15

Thanks for your reply! Much appreciated, and the statistics you gave definitely helped me big time! :D

Well, "main role" meaning what is the main reason that robots are created for. Every robot has been created for different purposes, they are definitely designed to make our lives easier or even to enrich it.

I was just doing a research for the topic my lecturer gave, which is "Discuss the role of robots in society", but we all know robots are definitely created for many types of functions and not just one.

However, would robots ever replace us of our jobs or even our world?
robotsnoob